World Book Day 2015: Tell us Your Favourite Book!

keep-calm-it-s-world-book-day-1-1Today is World Book Day – the day the world celebrates books! More than 100 countries are commemorating the qualities of reading today as they have done for 20 years now (though some will celebrate on the 23rd of April. The UK does not apply because the date clashes with the Easter holidays). World Book Day is traditionally celebrated on the first Thursday of March in the UK and to celebrate on ‘Poppy’s Best of Books’ today, I am asking all my readers to kindly share the title of their all time favourite book with us, in the Comments Section. It would be lovely to get to know about your reading preferences and favourite books, and I would thoroughly appreciate any comments! I would also love to know how you celebrate World Book Day!? Although regular visitors here, probably already know about my reading habits and preferences, here is a few of my very favourite books. Of course, I must quickly say, my list would be mainly made up of Enid Blyton books, as she is my favourite athour, but I have tried to make a varied list, so here we are:

  • Five Get Into Trouble by Enid Blyton: for me, this book is unbeatable. The contrast of the blissful cycling tour through the English countryside gradually turning into a ‘hair-raising’ adventure surrounding Owls Dene, is exceptional. Such a thrilling and enjoyable read.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: such a fascinating and entertaining insight into the featured era. Jane Austen embellishes the text with wit and creates some highly mysterious and heroic characters in, perhaps, her most well-known book. Reviewed here
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: which I have only discovered recently, but thoroughly enjoyed. The characters are so excellently described and the plot which spans across three books is highly compelling and intriguing. Absolutely brilliant. Reviewed here
  • War Horse by Michael Morpurgo: such a fascinating, inspirational read. Sad at times, but a truly fantastic book. Whilst readng this book, I learnt so much about the war, through Morpurgo’s subtle references and facts. Reviewed here
  • Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson: this book has everything: facts, a grest storyline, fantastic characters, mysterious occurrences… All which build up to make a classic read. Review here

I also thought, that, because it is World Book Day, I would share a few site stats with you. Now, number of views is probably going to sound a bit pathetic compared to some Blogs, but I am hoping that it is going to improve, dramatically!! So I thought, keeping with subject of books, I’d share with you, some of the most popular reviews I have written and published here. Over the last week, views have shot up thanks to The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes, review. The review which has received the most comments is The Adventurous Four by Enid Blyton review. Thank you, to the World of Blyton Blog for reblogging by post for that! Most popular Tags and Categories are ‘Historical’ and ‘Poetry’, which was quite surprising for me. I would be interested in some recommendations for future reviews.

Anyway, enjoy World Book Day. Dress up as your favourite character, have a readathon, and please tell us what your favourite book is below! Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “World Book Day 2015: Tell us Your Favourite Book!

Leave a Reply

