April’s Library Haul

Today I am submitting my very first Library Haul post! I described in my last review, how every month I am going to be reflecting about the books I have recently borrowed from my local library, and writing about my first impressions on them such as: their blurbs, their covers, etc… This month, I’ve had a bit of an ‘M.C.Beaton book-search’ and I borrowed several intriguing-appearing books by this author. Also a few historical books, and a few books from the teenage section. Anyway; here we go:

51Tj+UrKZZL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Death of a Dustman – M.C.Beatonore

I didn’t stumble across this book, as I did, some of my other library books, this week. I was specifically looking for some good old M.C.Beaton Hamish Macbeth books, and this one’s blurb intrigued me the most. But before I go on to describe the blurb, I will mention tne front cover artwork. Francis Farmer illustrates the idyllic scenes on these front covers, and although they are very pretty and attractive, they don’t really reflect the contents of the book. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t necessarily describe it as ‘deceiving’ because the titles say it all!! I do like these covers, but they aren’t something I wohld select for a murder-mystery book. About the blurb: here it is, for starters –

Screenshot_2015-04-01-19-01-23-2-1 Basicly, I was intrigued by the fact that a dust man got murdered in this book. In the Hamish Macbeth books I’ve read so far, a very unusual person has been murdered (ie: a witch/ a very popular woman) so I thought it would be interesting to see how M.C.Beaton tackles a more sort of common murder investigation. Anyway: I look forward to reading this book. I will hopefully share my thoughts, once I’ve read it; in a future review. Please look out for that.


12988106

Changeling by Philippa Gregory

I was intrigued by this book, due to the era it is set in. Coincidentally, I have recently been learning about the Medieval times, and to boast my knowledge of this historical era, I thought I’d take a look at this book. I have also seen Philippa Gregory’s books advertised elsewhere, recently, and it is about time I read a book heavily focussing on a factual genre. As well as the compelling blurb and eye-catching front cover, I was also hooked by the artistic maps supplied within the first few pages, of a medieval place. Plenty of attributes to encourage someone to read on! Anyway – here is the blurb:

The year is 1453 and all signs point to it being the end of the world. Accused of heresy and expelled from his monastery, handsome seventeen year old, Luca Vero is recruited by a mysterious stranger to record the end of times across Europe. 

Sounds most intriguing, but I do get the impression that this going to be quite a complex and multi-dimensional read. I will have to wait and see, though, but this is the first of in Philippa Gregory’s trilogy: the Order of the Darkness series.


16116099

Dead Jealous by Sharron Jones

This is a book in the ‘Poppy Sinclair thriller series’ and I found it in the teen’s section of our Library, along with the previous book I have just described. This is the only book I have got round to starting from my Haul, so far, and I must say that it was a disappointing introduction to my Library books, this week. The first couple of pages were peppered with swear words, and there were various unmentionable, shall we say ‘rude’ phrases and references. This book was promptly returned to the Library!

One thought on “April’s Library Haul

  1. Octavia says:

    You will love the Order of the Darkness series, Poppy. I’ve not read any M.Beaton books, but I do agree that “Dead Jealous” is pretty lame and just ‘beefed up’ with unnecessary swear words, and well yeah, rude references (ew). Anyway – enjoy! 🙂

    Cheers. Octavia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

