A Browse in the Bookshops

A browse in the local bookshops this afternoon reminded me how long it has been since so many new books have really intrigued me and I think this just proves how much my reading appeal has expanded in the last year or so. I have always usually been more fascinated and lured by books from a much earlier date, but at least three new books jumped out at me today, whilst browsing through the ‘new out’ shelves in Waterstones and WHSmiths. First of all, I’d like to say that the ‘new out’ thing is a very interesting idea in WHSmiths – it is basically a display of books aimed at all sorts of age groups and all sorts of genres, which could, potentially get quite confusing. A few of the books I picked up were actually adults books, but I assumed were children’s books by looking at their front covers, which could of course cause problems. Also, technically, a lot of the books weren’t ‘new out’, I saw Demon Dentist (David Walliams) and Opal Plumstead (Jacqueline Wilson) for instance, which have both been out for some months, at least. bookBut anyway, it was on the ‘new out’ shelves that I stumbled across an interesting novel called The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. Now, this sounds like a really fascinating and creative story and I can’t wait to get hold of a copy. I haven’t actually heard of it, but apparently, it is about a year old. The blurb has really intrigued me: it outlines a twisted tale involving a dolls house and the fate of it’s owner, lying in the hands of the tiny dolls which inhabit it. It has a lot of potential, anyway, judging by it’s blurb, and it has got me wondering what kind of a story it could possibly be – it could go any way, basically – most likely a horror story. May be some potential for a film there, too, then?! I seem to remember there being a reference to the 1600s in the blurb, too – plus there are some tudors on the front cover, so that all fits. Anyway, I’ll let you know what I think of that, if I get round to reading it. The next book I have been inspired to read is one I found in Waterstones, in the teens section and it might be of interest to fans of the Hunger Games and Philippa Gregory books. Things like that, anyway: book 1The book is called Red Queen and it is a book by a new author: Victoria Aveyard. It was published only this year and it follows the story of a girl called Mare who lives in a world which is divided by inhabitants who have Red blood and others who have silver blood. I have asked the Library to order this book for me, because I am keen to read it and see what I think of it. It sounds like a very unique and interesting idea, anyway, so I’ll definitely let you know what I think of this one. From what I can make of the Blurb, the Silver Blood people are the baddies and the girl called Mare has red blood, and is one of the many people who are under the rule and hates very much the Silver-bloods. But then, Mare realizes she has a strange, and unique power of her own… Intriguing in itself. I look forward to reading both books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

