June’s Library Haul

I’ve been doing so much reading this month, that it’s hard to keep track of everything I’ve read. I’ve got three books on the go at the moment (I know – it’s a mad idea) but I’ve had a super-stressful week, so I am finding comfort in reading certain books when I’m feeling quite down – Five Get Into Trouble by Enid Blyton. In school hours, I’m reading Shakespeare’s famous Macbeth. I started it today, and I am actually quite enjoying it now I’ve got used to the language. I’m up to Act 2 – Scene 3. And finally, I’m about two thirds of the way through a Hamish Macbeth mystery – Death of a Snob which is proving to be quite compelling, even though the murder has only just took place. As ever, however, I am appreciating the setting more than anything. But anyway, those are all my own books. It’s the 24th of June and about time I wrote about this month’s Library Haul! What with personal events, I have actually only been to the Library once this month, so far, so there’s not loads and loads to report, but here goes:

You might remember in my post ‘The World of Weird and Wonderful Book Titles’ I mentioned a book called Unhooking the Moon which is a striking title. Admittedly, I’ve never actually read the book before, so I jumped at the chance when I saw a new copy sitting in the teens section at my local library. I read a couple of pages while I was there and it sounded quite different. From what I can tell, it is about two children and is narrated by a boy called Bob and his younger sister who is rather bizarrely referred to as ‘the Rat’ (somehow making me a little doubtful about the rest of the book…) ‘The Rat’ seems to have some sort of power which enables her to correctly predict the future, so it does sound intriguing. It is by an author called Gregory Hughs.

As well as Macbeth, I’ve also got another Shakespeare book to try called The Tempest. Now, I do have a boxset of Shakespeare books for children, and I seem to remember reading this a couple of years ago and thinking how strange it was, but I couldn’t be sure if it was this one. I’ll have to see. It will be interesting to see how it compares to Macbeth, anyway.

The book that I ordered from the Library (Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard) seemingly hasn’t arrived yet, so I am crossing my fingers and eagerly awaiting it’s arrival. Not that I haven’t got enough to read at the moment! – I’m expected a book I ordered off eBay to arrive shortly. It contains a story by Enid Blyton which I surprisingly don’t have! It is called The Very Big Secret and I am told that it is a very bizarre book! I’m very curious, but bizarre or not, I can’t wait to discover a story by Enid Blyton that I haven’t already read at least five times!

Leave a Reply

