A Browse In the Bookshops

Today I had a spare 20 minutes or so and so I decided to go and have a look in WHSmiths and do another post similar to the one I did a couple of weeks ago under this title. I surprised myself again, and picked up several books – some of which I read the blurbs, and some I read the first pages or so. I have picked three which I am going to write about today; all different authors and genres.

DIVERGENT_B_Format_UK.inddFirst of all, I picked up a copy of the book Divergent which is by an author called Vernonica Roth. It was published in 2011 and people have told me that it is quite similar to the Hunger Games books by Suzanne Collins, which is why I first became interested in it. Personally, I would guess that it might involve a bit of fantasy, though – which puts me off a tiny bit, but when they get it in at the Library, I might give it a try. I read the first page, and I really like the style that it is written in: fast-flowing and quite easy to read. The characters sound highly interesting, too. I am also guessing it might be quite complex and spiral into quite a complicated tale, but I’ll have to see…

9781408803745The next book which caught my attention was called Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, a title which I recognized to be a drama from the television (not that I’ve watched it!) First impressions – 1000 pages?!! I don’t think I could remain interested long enough, to get through this book! The outline of the story, described in the blurb sounded good though – about two competitive magicians. I figure it might be quite difficult to read, however, as it is set in quite an early century. But it was interesting to speculate, anyway!

 

9781405276177Last of all, I saw this lovely-looking book and thought: “Who couldn’t be intrigued by such a nice little front cover and blurb?” I think this book will probably be quite similar to Robin Stevens’ Wells and Wong books, which I really like, and I like the idea of the setting: a dress makers shop. I am definitely going to try and get hold of this one. I think it will be a really lovely read.

Leave a Reply

