Review: Unhooking the Moon – Gregory Hughs

image

Title: Unhooking the Moon
Author: Gregory Hughs
Published: 2010
Awards: Booktrust Teenage Prize 2010

I’ve mentioned this book a couple of times on my Blog, over the last month or so – first in my article about ‘weird and wonderful’ book titles, and then in my Library Haul, last month. As well as the title: which first grabbed me, I was also captivated by the front cover, and it has led me to wonder what kind of book it is.

I didn’t read much of this book, so it isn’t a full in depth review, more of an article of rambles surrounding my views on the first couple of Chapters.

I originally estimated that this book would be suited for more of a younger readership than the teenage category, but from about the third page, I decided that this was a suitable age-bracket, for it. The text is peppered with references to being wary of people for fear of them turning out to be paedophiles! I thought this was quite a strange element of the book, actually and totally unnecessary.

The characters, I really like from the very start. There’s Bob – the narrator of the book. His younger sister who they refer to as ‘the Rat’ though her real name is Marie (another bizarre aspect of the book!) and their father – the Old Man. The book is clearly set in America, and I was really fascinated to read views on the English in the point of view of American citizens:

[Mimicking an English accent] “These Days, one must be careful whom one speaks to,” said the Rat, “The Muck one meets at the Mall are quite despicable.”

The Rat could do various accents. But this one, her aristocratic English accent, was her best. She sounded like a snob with the BBC.

I realise that Britain is well-known for it’s royalty and their etiquette, but we don’t all speak so formally, I assure you! Though I do think manners are extremely important, I also think it is important to speak with more relaxation and be quite casual. My Mum and I practice this sort of language from the Jane Austen-era (for fun and a bit of a laugh) sometimes, in an exchange of compliments, or observation. It usually ends in hilarity!

Anyway – how long do you give a book before you put it down and start a new one? I’ve heard people say that if a book doesn’t ‘grab’ them in he first few pages, they just put it down. By the end of Chapter One, I was very near this point. The book seemed to be going no where, and to hear someone called ‘the Rat’ irritated me.

Flicking through the book, there were depressing reminiscences, and I had just about clicked that this was going to be another of those seemingly never-ending depressing spirals of literature, which surprisingly, some people find entertaining! I don’t know what it is, but I just can’t read anything sad. Maybe that’s why I love books by authors like Enid Blyton!! When it comes to things like The Curious Incident Of the Dog In the Nighttime which I reviewed earlier last year, I just can’t stand it. I read until about Chapter Two or Three, and then put it back on the shelf.

It was an interesting book to try and I’m glad I explored it and satisfied my curiosity.

Leave a Reply

