A Browse In the Bookshops

It’s the summer holidays and… it’s raining. The start of a typical British Summer, which means that there is plenty of time for snuggling up indoors and reading, or if you like in a place where the sun makes a frequent appearance – go out in the garden and read in the sunshine! I’ve been to Waterstones and here is my most recent edition of A Browse In the Bookshops:

The first thing that I could help but notice as I wandered into Waterstones and inhaled the delicious scent of fresh coffee and new books; were all the displays about the new book: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee (writer of To Kill a Mockingbird). I tried reading To Kill A Mockingbird (reviewed here) a while ago, but I couldn’t get into it, and I ended up giving up halfway through. But I’m interested by this sequel which features Scout returning to Alabama years after her adventures as a child. I’m also curious as to why it hasn’t been published before now: I realize it was written quite a few years ago. It looks like a nice book, anyway, in a nice hardback edition. Waterstones have a good deal on it, too – it is selling for half price there which is good for a brand new book.

Moving on to a book called The Accidental Season a Young Adult novel by writer Moïra Fowley-Doyle. The Blurb is an especially tantalizing and compelling paragraph of potential and it sounds like a very good storyline. It sounds like there is a season every year in which a certain, seemingly cursed family become mysteriously prone to accidents. Cara is the main character and I’m guessing she might embark on a journey of discovery to ultimately uncover the secrets and hopefully an explanation behind the Accidental Season. I’m looking forward to reading it!!

Displayed on the shelf next to The Accidental Season there was a completely different book called Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls. I actually think the title gave away more than the blurb, but without the time to sit and read the first page, I had to look it up when I got home, and I really like the sound of it. I read this review on the blog: The Perks of Being a Bookworm, and I am very keen to read this book. It has got some bad reviews on Goodreads, but it will be interesting to give it a try.

Last but not least (technically I didn’t see this book in the bookshops) First Class Murder by Robin Stevens is out in just three days! I can’t wait! I don’t often go and buy a book straight from a proper bookshop because it is so expensive for just one book, but I think I will treat myself to this one on Thursday 30th when it comes out. It looks great – Daisy and Hazel are back and this time they are aboarding the Orient Express for a ‘First Class Murder’. Can’t wait. I’ve been looking forward to this all month! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Browse In the Bookshops

  1. Nigel says:

    I had forgotten about Robin Stevens, having read “Murder Most Unladylike” some time ago. Thanks for reminding me about this authoress, I have now downloaded the second book, “Arsenic for Tea” to my Kindle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

