August’s Library Haul

Where has the month gone?! It seems like another Summer has passed us by and autumn is very much on the horizon. There has been plenty of wet days for reading, but I’ve been doing more writing than reading, recently. I am well into my latest novel: it is currently around the 52,000 word mark and I can hardly tear myself away from the keyboard! But I’ve just come back from the Library with three new books to have a look at – all quite recent ones because it seems that my reviews on newer books are the more successful ones.

First of all, there is a thriller called Replica by Jack Heath which was published in 2014. Here is part of the blurb (which I was really intrigued by). It is an extract from the book itself –

‘Whose body is that on the table?’ I ask. She stares at me, as though the answer is obvious.
‘It’s yours,’ she says.
Before I have time to scream, she types a command on the keyboard. My conciousness whirls away like storm water down a drain.

It sounds really original, dark and intense – I really can’t wait to read this.

The second book is called Ink and Bone and it is by an author called Rachel Caine. It was published in 2015 and it really sounds like my kind of book. It surrounds a Library from ancient times (I think it is quite a historical, factual book). The blurb and cover actually reminded me of Eva Ibbotson – one of my favourite authors who writes books a bit like this. Here is part of the blurb anyway –

In a world where the ancient Great Library of Alexandria was never destroyed, knowledge now rules the world: freely available, but strictly controlled. Owning private books is a crime. Jess Brightwell is the son of a black market book smuggler, sent to the Library to compete for a position as a scholar…but even as he form friendships and finds his true gifts, he begins to unearth the dark secrets of the greatest, most revered institution in the world.

I am not 100% convinced by the blurb – it sounds like a great book, but I can imagine the text being quite hard to follow and very factual. I will give it a try though.

Last but not least is Cruel Summer by James Dawson, first published in 2013. This is one I’ve been considering for quite a while; I’ve seen it at the Library a couple of times. Today I decided that I would give it a try. It sounds like more of a murder-mystery, this time, about a death which was suspected to have been suicide, but proved to have been murder. I like the sound of it:

Ryan is looking forward to spending the summer with his old school friends at Katie’s luxurious Spanish villa. He hasn’t seen the gang since their friend, Janey, committed suicide a year ago. He hopes this summer, they’ll be able to put the past behind them and move on – until someone else arrives, claiming to have proof that Janey’s suicide was murder!

Looking at it now, it looks like a really good book which I’m looking forward to reading. I’ll let you know what I think of them when I have a better look sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

