A Browse In the Bookshops

My fourth edition of A Browse In the Bookshops. It was another interesting browse in Waterstones and WHSmiths on Tuesday afternoon and there are more than ever new bestselling books out to have a look at! I looked in both the teen section and the adult section, this time and there was a lot to see – including these:

1. The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie
Hmmm, I’m not sure about this one. It’s title appeals to me, and it’s intriguing front cover, but that’s about as far as it goes. It doesn’t have the best reviews on Goodreads, by the looks of it, and I haven’t heard of it until now, despite having been published in March this year. It has potential, judging by the title, but I don’t think I will be paying much for a copy. By the sounds of it, it is a horror book, and there is something about it being based on a YouTube clip or something… I’m not convinced yet, but it was an interesting idea.

2. All My Secrets by Sophie McKenzie
I’ve only ever read one Sophie McKenzie book (Girl, Missing – reviewed here) and it quite impressed me, but I never felt compelled enough to complete the series. However this book isn’t part of that series, but it sounds very interesting. I think the tagline on the cover ‘what if your whole life was a lie?’ is really effective and grabs the reader straight away. I might look into obtaining a copy. It sounds like a really thought-evoking read for Young Adults. One to read in the winter, judging by the frosty appearing cover!

3. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My friend told me about this book. I’d seen it advertised in WHSmiths before, but the cover doesn’t reveal much, so I didn’t think that much of it, but we were talking about it and she said it sounds really good. So I had a look. I don’t think the minimalistic approach does the book any favours, to be quite honest – like I said, I could walk right past it. But the story itself sounds brilliant. Again, the tagline is really intriguing – ‘you don’t know her, but she knows you’. Definitely going to try and get a copy. Sounds very promising.

I’ll be back next week with a review on one my Library Haul books. Thanks for reading! šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Browse In the Bookshops

  1. Ron Hervey says:

    The Girl on the Tran fell short of my expectations. It was not terrible. The pace was good and I liked the premise of the story, but I had problems liking the main character. There were other characters that I would have liked to have been more developed. Maybe I expected too much out of it because it has been on the New York Times Best Sellers list for such a long time. In fact, it still is – setting at #10 this week. This book reminded me that you shouldn’t use that list as an end-all for recommendations for books. I have read several on the New York Times Best Sellers that were stinkers. I now look at that list as a ranking of successful publisher marketing campaigns instead of the quality of the book. Now, I have read many great reviews of the book, so many did like it. But my opinion is that it was just OK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • poppyonkirrinisland says:

      Thanks Ron, I was really interested to read your thoughts on the book. I can’t really add much, I’m afraid, because I haven’t read the book myself yet (but it’s near the top of my Christmas list!) but it has been very popular here in Britain, where I believe it has been ranked as Book of the Year. I’ll be really interested to read it and I will definitely post my opinions here. It’s disappointing when a highly rated book or series falls short of your expectations; I felt the same way recently reading Veronica Roth’s Divergent books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

