A Browse in the Bookshops

The display shelves in Waterstones this week, were mainly dominated by scary Halloween books, and, as a fan of horror stories, I was spoilt for choice regarding which books to choose for my Browse in the Bookshops. Not all of my chosen titles are of the horror genre, however, and I’ve chosen some really interesting books, this week to analyze.

20151026_141626

My favourite is undoubtedly ‘Dorothy Must Die’ by Danielle Paige (2014). I love ‘The Wizard of Oz’ and I am guessing that this twisted, intriguing horror-take on the classic, will be right up my street. The cover is spot-on, in my opinion, and the blurb whispers promises of an intriguing sequel. It is one I will definitely be looking into. I really love the thought of it.

20151026_141629

Next up is ‘The Dead House’ by Dawn Kurtagich. First impressions: not the most original-sounding story, but, nevertheless – it sounds like it’s worth a read. It was published in August, 2015 and it sounds like the perfect book for Halloween, what with spooky diary entries and an unexplained disappearance of a child – I’m already intrigued! Sounds like a really creepy, well-written book.

20151026_141916

Last but not least is this gorgeous new edition of ‘Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone’. It is a beautifully illustrated edition with some gorgeous artwork in it. I love it, but sadly it cost £30 which is way out of my price range! Admittedly Waterstones were offering it with a £5 discount, but even still £25 is a lot for a book in my opinion.

Well, that’s it for another Browse in the Bookshops. Thanks for reading everyone!

6 thoughts on “A Browse in the Bookshops

  1. growupwithbooks says:

    Hot-chocolate, whipped cream with marshmallows on top and reading a book, sounds like my cup of tea. I agree with you Chamber of Secrets was one of my favorites when I was reading the Harry Potter series and it still is, I love all of them but some of my personal favorites are Order of the Phoenix, Deathly Hallows and Prisoner of Azkaban. I love your blog background, it looks like something that would be in Harry Potter:)

    Like

  2. Ashleigh says:

    I love visiting Waterstones, it’s my favourite bookshop 🙂 It’s just so cosy! I feel the same about the Harry Potter illustarted edition, it’s so expensive! BUT on Amazon it’s £15 so I’d be willing to pay that, I’ll have to order it from there 🙂
    I’ve read The Dead House and it became one of my favourite books! I wrote a review (spoiler free, of course) so if you’d like to read that, here’s the link: https://afrolicthroughfiction.wordpress.com/2015/10/23/the-dead-house-by-dawn-kurtagich/
    I really need to get Dorothy Must Die soon. It’s been on my TBR for ages!

    Like

    • poppyonkirrinisland says:

      I completely agree about Waterstones! It’s such a nice shop to browse around. I love going in – every week the displays are all different and stuff! 🙂

      Wow, £15 is reasonable for this new Harry Potter edition!

      Ooh yeah, I’ll check out your review on ‘The Dead House’ and I’ll have a look at the rest of your blog, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

