The TBR Book Tag

Thank you very much to T.K.Lawrence for tagging me for the TBR Book tag!! I am really excited about this post because I love reading other blogger’s TBR book tags. Thanks very much! T.K.Lawrence’s site can be found here and is well worth looking at for all those who don’t already follow it. So here are the questions!


How Do You Keep Track of your TBR pile?

I keep track of my TBR books the old-fashioned way. I rarely use Goodreads unless it’s to research a particular book. Admittedly, I can’t ‘get the hang’ of the website! I use a journal. Yep, I log all the books that I’ve read in monthly sections and at the back of the book, I list my TBR titles! I haven’t really persevered with Goodreads to be fair, so I might give it another go at some point. I know that it would come in very handy.


Is Your TBR Mainly Print or ebook?

Definitely print, for the simple reason that Kindles don’t agree with me. I have got this Kindle app on my tablet and every time I’ve attempted to read something on it, my battery has either gone dead or if I’ve read it before bed, I’ve been unable to get to sleep for hours because of looking at this light, just before I sleep. And, the prices are ridiculous, in my opinion. I would much rather pay the same price and get the book in actual book-form.


How Do You Determine Which Book From Your TBR to Read Next?

I don’t plan ahead, I just see what I fancy when it comes round to choosing a new book. It’s a nice feeling, hovering over your bookshelves, feeling a sense of excitement and opportunity. An opportunity to discover something new… I just wait and see what genre appeals to me and pick from there.


Which Book On Your TBR Has Been There The Longest? 9780141326924

Hmm, it would be either The Time-Riders by Alex life-of-pi-cover-image-1Scarrow or Life of Pi by Yann Martel, books that I have tried and just couldn’t get into. But they’re still there, on my shelves for me to persevere with one day… when I have a lot of patience… 🙂 No, on a serious note, I bet they’re great books. Often I can’t get into a book and when I read mid-point, it gets brilliant and I don’t want to have to close it! I bet that’s the case with these books. One day, I might be able to confirm that for you! I will certainly give them another go; it is not often that I put a book back on the shelf, uncompleted. I know that books are rated highly so I will probably, eventually, enjoy them!


A Book That You’ve Recently Added to Your TBR the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

I bought this book just the other week and I can’t help but wonder if I bought it solely on the basis that I know it is an unbelievably controversial book?! I couldn’t resist satisfying my curiosity, though, and I snapped it up and am looking to read and review it in the next couple of weeks. I literally know nothing about it, other than that it is controverisal, but undoubtedly, I am going to pick it up with an open mind and hopefully enjoy it a lot. I just love it’s title – it’s so original and it doesn’t give anything away about the book. It is a welcome addition to my TBR list!


A Book On Your TBR Strictly Because Of It’s Beautiful Cover 18142324-1

All the Birds, Singing – Evie Wyld. That front cover is absolutely gorgeous! The colours are just beautiful, and the animals are depicted amazingly. A brutal, ruthless and beautiful cover. I just have to find out what happens in the book. But, I just love that artwork. I look forward to reading this one!


A Book On Your TBR that You Never Plan On Reading

This is a really hard one! I think I’ll say My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgwick, because it doesn’t really appeal to me. Then again, I really liked one of his other books: Revolver so I might just give it a try, one time in the future.


An Unpublished Book On Your TBR.  27030027-1

This dashing new book by Robin Stevens: Jolly Foul Play – the fourth book in the Wells and Wong series, due out in March, 2016. So I’ve still got a while to wait. But, admittedly, I haven’t read the third book in the series yet, lol, so I’m sure I can wait! I read on Amazon that this book is going to be set back at Deepdean School, so I am exctied. I see that Robin Stevens has yet again, delighted us with another fantastic title! And such a beautiful, colourful cover. This series has been so good so far. My favourite was undoubtedly Arsenic For Tea which kept me guessing until the very end. You can find my reviews on the other books in the series, in the Index of Bookreviews at the top of the page. And if you haven’t read the existing books in the series, I highly reccomend them. They are so full of humour and the mysteries are brilliant, not to mention the fantastic characters!


A Book On Your TBR That Everyone Has Read But You

Ooh, definitely ‘His Dark Materials’ by Philip Pullman. All three books are sitting on my bookshelves, but I just can’t get into them. They’re not my thing at all, but they’re still there on my TBR because I know that so many other people have enjoyed them, so I feel like I should give them a chance.

darkmaterials3


A Book On Your TBR That Everyone Recommends To You the_rest_of_us_just_live_here_patrick_ness_cover-640x1024

Almost everyone mentions this book to me and I am really eager to read it. I don’t really know anything about it, to be honest, but having recently read Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls I am up for reading another one of his books. I think he writes fantasticly and puts so much thought and such deep morals into his books. It sounds like a really original and interesting idea. I love the front cover too. I really like the title, too.


A Book On Your TBR That You’re Dying to Read?

Technically, I’ve already tried reading James Dashner’s Maze Runner books, and I couldn’t get into them, but I realized afterwards that I didn’t give them much of a chance, so I’m raring to give them another go. They’ve obviously been really popular, so I’m hoping to read and review the series early in the new year. Watch out for my reviews!

mazerunner2


How Many Books Are On Your Goodreads TBR Shelf?

Admittedly, I don’t actually use Goodreads like this. I use the website purely to research certain books, etc, so I can’t actually answer this one, sorry. 🙂


I Tag:

ThePocoBookReader

J.Belk Books

The Galaxial Word

Just Read

Dream By Day

8 thoughts on “The TBR Book Tag

Leave a Reply

