Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

image

I was really impressed by this book. My friend leant me their copy a couple of days ago, and I finished it within a couple of days of into venturing into a character called Hannah Baker’s complex life. The whole idea, I found, was very An Inspector Calls – ish, if you know what I mean. There’s this girl who has had a lot of bad luck amongst a selection of people who eventually pushed her over the edge and made her kill herself. But before she killed herself, she recorded on cassette, the thirteen reasons why. It is a very moving book, packed with emotion and inspiration.

So the book is written in a very unique format. It slips between two perspectives: there’s Hannah’s recordings and a character called Clay Jenson’s reaction to the tapes – because he was one of he reasons why Hannah killed herself.

It’s actually a bit depressing at times, how in Hannah’s recordings, she talks about death and stuff, but that’s only a small part of the story. Her recordings are compelling, fast-paced, emotional and intriguing. It’s a sad and poignant reflection on a reality for too many real teenagers, today. It just shows how bottling things up is never good.

Jay Asher has written such an original and unique story and I think that it has been tremendously underrated. I only noticed it in Waterstones a couple of weeks ago, on one of the display shelves, but it was published in 2007! It’s definitely one I’d recommend to a teen and YA audience, and I am really grateful that my friend let me borrow her copy. It’s definitely a book that you shouldn’t miss. It’s one I’ll read over and over again. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

  1. dalal98 says:

    I love this book, I generally don’t lean towards depressing novels but this holds a special place in my heart as it was one of the first novels I’ve ever owned, and have read countless times. It’s also one of those books that I sort of discovered on my own while roaming the aisles of a bookstore, and when a book is like that it kind of feels like your own little gem, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • poppyonkirrinisland says:

      That’s a really lovely little story – I can see why the book is so special to you. Thanks so much for visiting! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

