My Year In Books

It has been a hectic year for me in my bookish world. I have read exactly 52 books, 36 of them are ones I read for the first time and I have enjoyed each and every one. I would like to take the opportunity to thank all my readers, followers, likers and bloggers in general, who happened to stumble across my humble little book blog. You have delighted me with your kind reactions to my reviews and posts and made all my work worthwhile. You have made my blogging year very successful and ultimately incredibly enjoyable, so thank you so much.

image

In this post, I’m going to be listing my bookish highlights of 2015. It’s really been a fantastic year, in which I have discovered some incredible books. My number 1 book of the year is undoubtedly Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, read in October. What a fantastic book! You can find my review here. This book is on my Christmas list, so fingers crossed, it will be on my bookshelves in a few days! I absolutely adored it from start to finish. It was so original and chilling. One that I will enjoy over and over again.

image

Next, I would probably say The Hunger Games trilogy which I discovered early in year, maybe late January, early February. It was never a series I really considered reading before, but I happened to catch half an hour or so of the film, which really whetted my appetite and I went on to read all of the books and I have seen most of the films now, too. They’re very good books and the characters are fantastic. In my opinion, the books are miles better than the films. Reviewed here, here and here.

image

Number 3 book of the year is going to be The Accident Season by Moรฏra Fowley-Doyle. An amazing debut book, packed with surprises, mystery and intrigue. I will definitely be looking out for more books by this author, because she wrote excellently and panned things out perfectly. I read this book in August and since then, I’ve been surprised at how little I’ve heard of this book, it’s certainly underrated at the time being. But definitely worth a read or a place on your Christmas list if you want to read a story full of ghosts, guardians, accidents, gore and intrigue. Reviewed here.

image

I couldn’t just leave it at my top three books of the year, therefore, it’s going to be my top five! Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, read in September, undoubtedly deserves a place on my list. What an amazing thriller! It kept me guessing from start to finish, and like most other readers, I was deceived completely, by the character of Amy Dunne. Gillian Flynn made the book full of suspense and excitement. The characters were fantastic, and the storyline was very clever. If you haven’t already read it, then you’re in for a treat! Reviewed here.

220px-a_monster_calls.jpg

 

The fifth book in my top five books of the year is Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls. I admittedly got a surprise with this one; I wasn’t expecting it to be so good. It was a fantastic tale with unbelievable description, a sad storyline and amazing characters. I read this book in October near Halloween, and I was very impressed. I didn’t expect it to be what it was, but I loved it! Reviewed here.

My target is to read 60 books in 2016, at least half should be books I have never read before. I can’t wait for another year in books! Thanks again everyone for making Poppy’s Best of Books worthwhile. Have a great Christmas and a very happy new year. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “My Year In Books

Leave a Reply

