My Recent Book Haul

haul.jpgIs there a more satisfying experience in the world than walking home with a fantastic haul of books? This lot cost me just ยฃ10.00 in total (charity shops were a great invention ๐Ÿ™‚ ), but to say that they are second hand, all of these books are quite new, and in very good condition – I am really pleased with my haul of books!

Let me tell you a little more about them!

20160329_140341I read a book by Patrick Ness last year: A Monster Calls, which I really enjoyed, and ever since, I have been tempted by this interesting-looking book called More Than This, which sounds very mysterious. From the blurb, I gather that it is all based around a boy who “dies” and then he wakes up somewhere else, so it’s as if he has gone to heaven or something… From my experience, Patrick Ness always fills his books with deep meanings and morals, so I’ll be interested in reading this book, which sounds very unique and interesting.

I’ve also had my eye on The Sisters by Claire Douglas for a while, too. If you remember, I included it in my Browse in the Bookshops last month, and I was really intrigued by the fact that it was described as similar to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. As I said back then, I love the front cover and the idea of the story, and I can’t wait to read it.

Next: All My Secrets by Sophie McKenzie. I’ve read a book by this author before, and really 20160329_140319enjoyed it, so I thought I would try another. The front cover asks: What if your whole life was a lie? which I suppose grabbed my attention! I really like the sound of this thriller, and I read a few pages when I first got it, and it sounds really interesting. I remember thinking that Girl, Missing was quite far-fetched, and I did feel the same about the first pages or so of this, but I’ll see how it goes!

The Selection by Kiera Cass has been on my TBR for a while now, and I was very glad when I came across a copy, and I think it’s something I will enjoy. It’s different to what sort of genre I usually read, but I’m really interested in it, and I am writing a novel at the moment which has the same sort of atmosphere as this, so it will be interesting to read this. Some people have said it’s a bit badly written, but I am most interested in what the story is going to be about, so I’m looking forward to it!

20160329_140307 I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh was also described as similar to some thrillers I have recently enjoyed, so that was the primary reason that I picked this one out, but as I read the back, I became quite caught up in the concept of this story, and I am really looking forwardย to reading this one. Itย is one that I have seen reviewed on blogs and Goodreads a lot lately, so I won’t be missing out on this now, and I’m looking forward to picking it up and enjoying another great thriller.

I hadn’t heard that much about The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge before I bought it, and I was thoroughly attracted to it because of it’s intriguing blurb. I didn’t actually realize it was more of a younger readers’ book until I saw it on Goodreads which disheartened me a little: I thought that it might have great potential to be a creepy, sinister YA horror story, but I will still read it with an open mind.

Last but not least: my latest addition to my book haul is a lovely copy of All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, which I am really excited about because I have heard great things about this book.

20160330_172013


I’m really pleased with my haul – I think I have selected some really good books to read and review. I will let you know how I get on with all of them. Keepย a look out for my reviews! My bookshelves are positively overflowing with books, which might strike an ordinary person as a problem, but for a booklover, it is a delightful scenario. I am going to have to fit in a lot of reading over the next few months. Which am I looking forward to reading first, I hear you ask? The Sisters by Claire Douglas, and All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, unquestionably. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you read any of these books?

Would you recommend them?

Have you been disappointed with any of them?

Have you bought any intriguing new books, recently?

 

 

16 thoughts on “My Recent Book Haul

    • Poppy says:

      Hi Lauren, I feel exactly the same about The Selection Series – I can’t wait to read them to satisfy my curiosity about them! Second-hand bookshops are definitely brilliant – I love them! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    More than This… prepare to be disappointed. If you’re looking for “philosophical” and “heaven” and “deep”, brace yourself for sci fi instead. The book starts off nicely, all “philosophical”, “deep”, etc, then suddenly takes the road of sci fi which is very abrupt. Also it’s astoundingly confusing. As in, bookshelf-assembling-manual confusing level.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chocolatepages says:

    Wow, what a brilliant haul from a charity shop. I haven’t read any of them, but I’m sure you will enjoy at least some of them, hopefully all. I look forward to your reviews of them.
    Sounds like you got a real bargain. Whenever I go to charity shops, the book shelves are my first stop, I always find something good there.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks Amanda! Yes, I’m addicted to searching for books in charity shops and I’ve had some great bargains over the last few days. I was surprised how recent a lot of the books were. Recent releases are the ones I’m most interested in because reviews I post on them are most popular. Thank you for your feedback! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. orangepekoereviews says:

    I had to start All The Light We Cannot See twice – the second time I wasn’t trying to look for all the meaning in each sentence. In the end I really enjoyed it.
    I really wanted to read I Let You Go but when I had a copy … I don’t know. I skipped ahead to see what happened but it has had rave reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I have heard that ‘All the Light We Cannot See’ is an amazing book, but now I have a copy and I can see exactly what it is about, I’m not sure if it’s going to be my sort of thing. I was interested to read about your experiences with these books! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. wonderfilledreads says:

    I just finished The Lie Tree a few weeks ago, and while it’s being called as MG book, it’s definitely not! It’s very dark and creepy! I wasn’t really sure how I would feel about it but I ended up loving it. It’s also got an underlying feminism message which was unexpected but I loved. You can check out my full review if you want to learn some more about it! No spoilers either, so don’t worry! ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://wonderfilledreads.com/2016/03/28/arc-review-the-lie-tree/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lana says:

    Ooh, I have read A Monster Calls and I really liked it, so I might just have to read More Than This now… All of your new books sound great! I want to go buy some second-hand books now….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Yeah, ‘A Monster Calls’ is great! It was really unexpected for me, because I was expecting more of a horror story, but I thoroughly enjoyed it! I hope you enjoy ‘More Than This’ if you read it! And I’d definitely recommend you go second-hand book shopping – it’s so fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

