Review: The Sisters by Claire Douglas

From one thriller to another, I was excited to start the book: The Sisters and I was really impressed with it. It’s one where you can’t quite trust anyone and it kept me guessing until the very end. It is fast-paced, consists of some really interesting characters, and is overall, very compelling indeed. Let me tell you more about it!

After the tragic death of her beloved twin sister, Abi has moved to Bath to escape the horrors of the events that turned her life upside down, but unexpected glimpses of her past still haunt her. She still has visions of her deceased sister in similar-looking women, and the events in this book unfold around Abi befriending a woman called Beatrice, who reminds her of her twin, Lucy.

She really thinks that her life is worth living again when she gets involved with Beatrice, who is remarkably similar to her. Not only does she look a lot like her, but she also has a twin – a brother called Ben, who is as equally charming and attractive. Beatrice and Ben’s sibling relationship is really nice – they each obviously care deeply for each other, and thoroughly respect each other’s feelings. When Beatrice suggests that Abi moves into their beautiful five-storey Georgian house (shared by both Beatrice, Ben and three other house-mates) Abi is delighted.

I just loved the descriptions of the house in this book. Each of the residents have an artistic streak, which explains the gorgeously tasteful décor. It sounds like such a pretty, unique and welcoming home, which is why Abi is so pleased to move in. She doesn’t realize how dark and foreboding the house will become, once she her life becomes entwined in the twins’ lives…

So Abi moves in and she forms a close bond with Ben. It seems that they were a match made in heaven, but very quickly, Abi realizes that their relationship isn’t exactly welcomed in the household and it appears that Beatrice is unhappy about the relationship and is discouraging Ben from getting involved with Abi. It also appears as if somebody is trying to push Abi over the edge and make her think that she is slowly going mad, when she is led to believe that her dead sister sends her flowers for her birthday…

I didn’t know who to blame in this tense, and haunting psychological thriller. Everyone seemed to have something to hide. I had a lot of speculations about what could be happening, such as: Abi could be having a bit of a breakdown and be being very paranoid about everyone around her. Or the twins could be manipulating her for reasons of their own. But the end was unexpected and thoroughly satisfying.

It was thought-provoking and dramatic and in the end, I concluded that everyone did have something about them, that they were hiding. I didn’t foresee the twist, and it was quite exciting when that emerged. The last line was very harrowing and clever, in my opinion. Just when I thought everything was concluded, I realized that there was a little more to it than I imagined.

It was a stylish and gripping thriller, and I was genuinely sad to come to the end of it. I really bonded with the characters and became caught up in the plot. I would recommend it to fans of The Girl on the Train, as a review inside, suggests. Absolutely perfect. Another five-star read.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Sisters by Claire Douglas

  1. The Genre Minx says:

    I really liked this review. Had not heard of this book but might put it on my to read list. Thanks!! Also I appreciate you stopping by my blog and checking it out. Your time is much appreciated. Thanks for following!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Thank you – I’m glad you enjoyed my review! I hope you enjoy the book if you decide to read it.
      And you’re welcome – I enjoyed browsing your blog and I’m looking forward to future posts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

