Why I Didn’t like: The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney

The Liar's ChairIt took me a while to read this book, over two weeks to be more accurate, because it’s not really one of those books that grabbed my attention straight away. It took a while to get going, despite it being well-known for being a great thriller, and I was actually very disappointed in it overall. It had a promising synopsis, and I was drawn in by the line on the front cover: Who can she trust if she can’t trust herself?

Rachel Teller and her husband, David, seem to have the perfect life. They have a big house and good jobs, but their relationship isn’t fuelled by love, it is fuelled by control and when Rachel accidentally kills a man in a hit-and-run, the couple are pushed over the edge.

…and that it me trying (really hard) to make the first 150 pages of this book sound interesting!

Neither Rachel nor David are very likable characters. They are both quite boring really – there is nothing really striking about either of them, to be honest. Rachel is cheating on David with a man called Will. David is abusive and possessive and is quite cruel to her at times, to the extent at which he locks her in rooms for days at a time (probably one of the most eventful scenes in the entire book).

I am struggling to think of much else to say about this book. There is a lot of boring chapters in this book where things are just going round and round in circles and everything is boring. Reviews inside the book promised ‘echoes of Gone Girl‘ and ‘one of those books that has you racing through it’. It lured the reader in with lines such as: ‘sleep-with-the-lights-on-chilling’ and ‘this pacy thriller is pitch-dark’, I found it to be a long, tedious read which I can’t believe I persevered with until the end!

I suppose I just kept reminding myself that it’s a successful book and it must get good somewhere soon, but sadly this wasn’t the case.

It is admittedly very well-written and the characters are carefully portrayed. The only relevance I can see between The Liar’s Chair and Gone Girl is the unsettling relationship that takes centre-stage in the book, but otherwise, Rebecca Whitney’s debut does not come anywhere close the standards of Gillian Flynn’s work, in my opinion. It isn’t the full-package. It’s all very well to base a book around some strong characters, but in my opinion, you need to have a storyline to carry them through and this book just didn’t have a good enough one.

It’s such a shame because I really wanted to like this book and I gave it enough chance, but in the end I just felt like I had completely wasted my time. For which reason, I am going to give this book a two-star rating out of five:

two stars

Thank you for reading, everyone!

Poppy

11 thoughts on “Why I Didn’t like: The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney

  1. blackcatkai says:

    I’m kind of over books being compared to others to get you to buy them. And I don’t mean
    “if you liked this one book, you’ll like this other book”, I mean the whole
    *it’s this year’s gone girl!* or *hunger games meet pretty woman* or whatever. You know?

    I always find them to be….wrong? Like it’s a stretch & idk where they got the combos they picked lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Yeah, I should probably keep that in mind next time I go book shopping. It’s so annoying when quite clearly, the book doesn’t compare in the slightest to the one it says it’s similar to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Ashers! says:

    “I suppose I just kept reminding myself that it’s a successful book and it must get good somewhere soon, but sadly this wasn’t the case.”

    It’s so frustrating when this happens. I’m sorry you put yourself through such a disappointing book! Hopefully the next one you pick up will be better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

