April Wrap-Up

Having been quite a busy month for me, what with upcoming exams and other commitments, I have to admit that I have only squeezed in a pitiful grand total of three books! Let me tell you what I’ve been up to:


You might remember that I reviewed Before I Go To Sleep a few weeks ago, having thoroughly enjoyed it. It was an amazing read, and I was unsure about watching the film at first, but I finally gave in and watched it. In a way, I was slightly disappointed. I felt that the film was quite rushed to fit it into the short length of time, and certain aspects (such as the portrayal of Clare) were quite inaccurate to the text. However, I thought the fact that the journal was replaced with a video diary was very effective. Overall, I think that it would have been much better if the book was serialized into a TV series, so that it would be spread out over the course of a few episodes so that there could be more detail fit in. I was glad that I watched it, but it could have been better.


25041402.jpgThe first book that I read this month was a book I reviewed called The Sisters by Clare Douglas, which I rated highly. It was an excellent book, and it’s one of those that I just can’t understand why it hasn’t been more well-known. The characters were all very deceiving and I didn’t know who to blame, and finally, the conclusion was quite unexpected. I think we will hear more about Clare Douglas. Her writing style is really unique and compelling.

You can find my review here.


Next, I read a book called The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney. It’s a book that I borrowed

from my friend, and I didn’t have the heart to tell her how bad I thought it was! It was just soooooo boring! Nothing happened, to put it in a nut-shell. It was a slow build-up to what I thought would be an interesting thriller, but in the end, it was all very disappointing. It took me ages to read, as well, because I wasn’t very motivated to read it, seeing as nothing was going on in it.

You can find my (quite critical) review here.


Finally, I read The Selection by Kiera Cass. I’m going to wait to tell you about this one in my review, which I will be posting shortly. People have called it a ‘love or hate book’, so I’m looking forward to discussing it with people here and seeing what you think as a comparison to what I think. I feel a bit behind, starting to read this series now, after everyone seems to have already reviewed it, but I don’t usually follow reading trends, I like to come across books on my own. Usually I’m disappointed if a book has a lot of hype and it doesn’t live up to my expectations.


Thank you to everyone who tagged me or nominated me for an award this month – I’ve had a busy month in that department, and I’d just like to say how much I appreciate it!

Thank you for reading, everyone!

What has your reading month been like?

 

9 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. rattlethestarssite says:

    I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts about The Selection. I’m so conflicted about the series. I like it and completely devoured each book, but the characters are just so frustrating! That said, I’m looking forward to The Crown this month.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate W says:

    I read the book of Before I Go to Sleep long before I saw the movie (maybe even years apart) which I think makes a difference to enjoyment. What I loved about the movie was the house it was set in- eerily perfect but different to what I had first envisaged.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Hi Kate, it’s interesting to read about your experience! Yes, I think you’re right, it might make a difference if you leave a gap in between reading the book and watching the film, then I suppose, you are more open-minded. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

