The Blogger’s Recognition Award

blogger's recognition

I was nominated for The Blogger’s Recognition Award by Sammie at Book Shelves and Biros. Thank you very much for nominating me, Sammie, I really appreciate it! Do go and have a look at Sammie’s blog, if you haven’t already come across it – she is a wonderful blogger and I’m sure you will love reading her informative honest reviews just as much as I do! 🙂


The Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How Poppy’s Best of Books Started:

I created Poppy’s Best of Books almost two years ago now, and it was a spur of the moment sort of thing, to be quite honest. I didn’t plan on starting a blog, it was just something I felt like doing one day. I suppose I found the idea of building a website quite appealing and also, I wanted to expand on my hobby of writing and reading. Back then I only ever really read children’s books (my favourite author was always Enid Blyton) and I wanted my blog to help me broaden my reading horizons. When I started discovering other people’s blogs and seeing the latest reading trends, I felt like it was time to move on to some YA and Teen fiction, and I’m so glad I did because I have discovered some absolutely fantastic books since. I suppose I also wanted to meet a new community of people who shared the same interests as me, and that has worked out well too, because I have met some amazing people through my blog, and that’s probably the best part of blogging for me. There is no greater feeling of satisfaction that getting lovely feedback from my readers and chatting about all things bookish!


Advice to New Bloggers:

Ok, so there’s loads of advice that I could give you, but I think that these two pieces of advice are the most important:

  1. Seek out the right audience for your blog: I spent about three months of my blogging experience just waiting for people to happen across my blog and like all my posts, but trust me, that just doesn’t happen! If you want to get new followers and therefore more likes and comments, go and find some blogs that blog about similar things and read and like some or their posts and then hopefully they will return the favour!
  2. Remember that blogging should be fun! Don’t feel pressured to follow trends and do what everyone else in the blogging world is doing, because that turns what should be a fun activity into a bit of a chore. Write about things that you love and enjoy the experience. For example: if you are a book blogger, don’t feel pressured to go out and buy all the latest books that everyone else is reviewing, because that would cost a lot of money 🙂 and it would also make your blog content boring and too similar to everyone else’s. Make your blog unique!

My Nominees:

  1. Just Page by Page
  2. A Forest of Books and Memories
  3. Paint and Butterflies Books
  4. YAPS!
  5. Legenbooksdary 
  6. Booksreenchanted
  7. The Bibliophile Blogs
  8. Rant and Rave About Books
  9. Hey Ashers!
  10. Nightjar’s Jar of Books
  11. Rattle the Stars
  12. The SFF Bookshelf
  13. Between the Lines
  14. Your Daughter’s Bookshelf
  15. Opinionated and Bookish

Obviously, if you have already received the award, please feel free to ignore this nomination. 🙂


Thanks very much again to Sammie for my nomination and I hope you enjoyed reading this post!

Thank you for reading!

Poppy

30 thoughts on “The Blogger’s Recognition Award

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Thank you for nominating me. This tag is so fun. I love your advice for bloggers. I completely agree. A blog that tries to mirror everyone else’s does not reflect the person. Originality is so important in the blogosphere. When I first started almost two months ago, I was doing all the weekly memes, thinking that was normal, but then I realized they did nothing to separate my blog from the others that were doing the same exact prompts each week. That’s such good information to know when you first start out. Nice post! I will definitely do this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sammie @ booksandbiros says:

    Aw, thank you so much for the kind words! Those are such nice things to say! 🙂

    I’m a massive Enid Blyton fan now too, I have my eye on the new edition books in Waterstones but I’m slightly too skint to get them at the moment haha.

    I think your advice is spot on – it’s really hard to make a niche for your blog and part of building a readership is seeking out like minded people and getting involved. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ioana @ booksreenchanted says:

    Thank you so much for tagging me! I am so excited, this is my first tag/’award’.
    I love how you bring up that blogging introduced you to new books and genres and also encouraged you to read more. This is exactly what I’m finding too, it’s quite eye-opening!

    Like

    • Poppy says:

      You’re welcome – and a first award is always special, so I hope you enjoy doing this one! xx

      Yeah, I’ve been discovering so many new books (and spending lots of money on them, ha ha!) so blogging is great in the book advertising respects! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rattlethestarssite says:

    Thanks for the tag! I’m really bad at keeping up but I’ll try my best *fingers crossed* Great advice! I’m still amazed by how quickly I have gained followers but a lot of it came down to liking, following and commenting on other blogs. It’s extra work, but it pays off in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      You’re welcome – and don’t worry, I’m the same – I’ve got a list of about five tags to catch up on, too! 🙂 Yeah, the work is definitely worth it in the end!

      Like

  5. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    Thank-you so much for the nomination!

    And I agree with you 100%, everyone should remember that blogging should be fun. I think we tend to try so hard to follow the trends that we forget that our blogs should be fun and we shouldn’t be trying to emulate somebody else. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Ashers! says:

    I’ve never read any of Enid Blyton’s books, but I’ll look into them now!

    It always amazes me how many bloggers go out and buy towers of new books every month; I feel like I’m one of the minority with my well-used library card. *Pets it.*

    Thanks for the tag! Hope I can come up with advice as good as yours. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Yeah, Enid Blyton books are really fun, quick reads!

      I know – I’m exactly the same! I can’t believe that people can afford to buy all these brand new books every month. I hardly ever go into a bookshop and buy a brand new book, because it’s so expensive to say that I’ll probably only ever read the book once or twice. So, yeah, I tend to go to the Library or look online.

      And you’re welcome – I look forward to reading your post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

