May Wrap-Up

It has been such a hectic month, I honestly don’t know where the time has gone! As I’ve said plenty of times, I’m doing exams at the moment (very important exams!!) so I’ve been revising like crazy and attending a lot more classes than I used to do. So consequently, there’s been some rather large gaps between my posts this month, but it couldn’t be helped.

I’ve read three great books this month, all of which I have reviewed. Let me tell you more about them:


book17The first book I read was the second book in Ransom Riggs’ amazing Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy: Hollow City. I didn’t know what I was expecting from the sequel, but I certainly didn’t expect a book of such high standard as this. It was undoubtedly just as good as the first book, for me, and I loved every page. The peculiar photographs were just as amazing, and the characters were very well-developed. I gave it a five-star rating.

five star


the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

The second book I read this May, was The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I was very impressed with this book. It wasn’t what I expected and the writing was amazing. There were such deep and meaningful reasons behind everything Chbosky wrote and I really bonded with the main character; Charlie. It was a pleasant surprise after I had put off reading this book several times. I gave it a well-deserved five star rating.

five star


me before you...Finally, I read Jo-Jo Moye’s amazing: Me Before You. Aw, I just loved this, despite it being heart-breaking and sad. The characters were just beautifully developed and the story flowed very well. The end made me cry so much. Although the story was quite predictable for me, I still very much enjoyed reading Will and Louisa’s journey and I’m so glad I picked this book up and read it. It comes with such a valuable moral and it offers a very interesting perspective which most people won’t have considered before. I gave it a 4.5 star rating, mainly due to the fact that it was so sad.

4.5 star


This month’s posts:

1st May – April Wrap-Up

4th May – Discovering The Selection by Kiera Cass

6th May – The Blogger’s Recognition Award

9th May – The Excellent: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

12th May – The Scavenger Hunt Book Tag

19th May – Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

29th May – Fall in Love With: Me Before You – Jo-Jo Moyes


Currently Reading:

black eyed susans


June TBR

I never usually stick to my TBR,Β to be honest, but here it is anyway!


I hope you enjoyed all of May’s posts and are nowΒ allΒ now looking forward to a very good bookish June!

14 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

  1. bookwormwholived says:

    Me before you was so good aw and so sad! *spoilers* I wish Will had at least tried I out with Louisia – just one month or something! I understand why he did what he did but he could have tried – he loved her!<\\3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Hi Loreen, oh definitely read ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ – it’s brilliant!
      And thanks for the link, I’ll take a look at your wrap-up. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Ioana @ booksreenchanted says:

    Good luck on exams!! And whoa, I am impressed with how much reading you’ve been able to do at this point in the year! What a great list, too. Perks of Being a Wallflower has been on my list, so glad to hear how much you enjoyed it, now I’m even more motivated to read it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

