Confused (and Captivated) by Mind Games – Teri Terry

Poppy's Best of Books Sticker

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all OK. Today’s review is about a book called Mind Games by Teri Terry. I borrowed this book from a friend who absolutely loved it and she immediately gripped me by saying there was a fantastic twist in it’s plot. I love great plot-twists so I was excited about starting this one. Also, I’ve heard great things about Teri Terry’s popular Slated trilogy, so I was confident that this would be a really good book. It’s one that we haven’t really heard much about and I haven’t really written many reviews about books that haven’t been quite well-known, so we’ll see how this goes. I’m actually really surprised I haven’t heard more about Teri Terry’s Mind Games – it seems like the sort of thing which is bang on trend at the moment. 🙂 But anyway, and now for my review:

Review Pic


mind games


One of my first thoughts when I started reading this book was; have a picked up a sequel to something? Teri Terry, the author of Mind Games doesn’t hang around – she throws the reader into the deep end, into a new and very unique dystopian world which is full of surprises and intrigue – but not much explanation at the beginning. We are immediately launched into a fully-developed dystopia; the author doesn’t really ease the reader in, which I usually find is much more effective than just “BAM”, here’s the world. I think it’s much better to keep a little mystique and intrigue about the world rather than to give it to the reader all at once. So at the beginning, I was beginning to have my doubts (both about what the hell was going on, haha – and about the actual book).

Despite being told a lot about the world that Mind Games is set in at the beginning of the book, the reader had quite a bit of working out to do for themselves. There are terms which don’t really come with explanation which I found confusing and quite irritating at times. I literally had to read the first chapter three times in order to try and see if I’d missed anything. But no, I hadn’t.

But it does get better – I promise!


Mind Games 2.png


Luna is the main character in this technology-centred book. She is a bit of a rebel or in actual fact; she is a refuser. The world in which she lives in is unique because it is all focussed on digital technology. It is about a world in which people have the ability to ‘plug in’ to a virtual life. To enable them to do this, they get implants, which allows them to connect to this virtual life. However, as Luna is a refuser, she does not have an implant. At the start of the book, we are told that she is a refuser because ‘plugging in’ – the term which means connecting with this virtual life – makes her feel sick because unlike everyone else, when she is actually ‘plugged in’, she is still aware of the reality of the situation; that this is all going on in her mind, not in actuality.

It’s a lot to take in, and I probably didn’t explain it that well, to be honest!

Luna is a really nice main-character. I say this because in other similar dystopian novels, I don’t usually really like the main characters – such as Katniss Everdeen and Triss Prior. Luna is kind, funny, rebellious and clever. I also think that the other characters are well thought out.So basically, Luna is one of a group of really brainy people who get asked to take a test which could potentially secure them a high-up job in the country’s technological world which plunges her into a journey towards discovering both her and her dead mother’s true identities and the truth about the dictators of the world that they live in (PareCo). This world which she lives in is much darker than she expected.

Teri Terry’s writing is flawless. This book is really well-paced and incredibly unique. As I said at the beginning of this post, I can’t believe that this hasn’t been more popular. It is exactly the sort of thing which is popular at the minute and it’s quite similar to the last book that I read and reviewed actually (Patrick Ness’: More Than This). It also reminds me a little of Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy at times; especially when the characters are participating in virtual games which remind me of the simulations in Divergent.

I’d give this book four out of five stars, just because it had a bit of a slow start and things weren’t very well explained to begin with – also it had a complicated conclusion! However, the rest of the book more than made up for this, so I think Mind Games is more than deserving of a four star rating. In all honesty, the ‘twist’ wasn’t quite as shocking as I’d anticipated, but it was still a very satisfying read.

Before you Go! –

  • Have you read Mind Games or any of Teri Terry’s other books?
  • If not, does it sound like your sort of thing?
  • Did my review inspire you to give this book a try?
  • Can you relate with any of my comments?
  • Did you enjoy this post?

Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading, everyone!

Poppy sticker

7 thoughts on “Confused (and Captivated) by Mind Games – Teri Terry

  1. irena_bookdustmagic says:

    Tbh, this book sounds complicated, but I’m glad you ended up liking it in the end.
    I already know it’s not my cup of tea bc I don’t enjoy reading dystopian so I won’t be picking it up, but your review is great if you ask me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Ooh, I might have to give ‘Slated’ a try. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. I’d definitely recommend ‘Mind Games’ if you’re looking for more Teri Terry books! 🙂 Hope you enjoy it if you do decide to try it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

