Back At the Palace In: The Elite by Kiera Cass

I feel like I shouldn’t love it – but I do! I read and reviewed The Selection by Kiera Cass in May and I found fault after fault with it, but I did admit to really loving the book. I found Kiera Cass’ standard of writing quite poor and cheesy, but it’s addictive and fun. The whole idea of the story is very original and interesting, too.

It wasn’t long after finishing The Selection that I found myself itching to return to the palace in the enthralling world of Illéa – and so I got myself on Amazon and I bought the second and third book in this unusual series: The Elite and The One. Today I will be reviewing Kiera Cass’ The Elite:

Review Pic


the selection


The Elite starts off where The Selection left us, really. The main character: America Singer, is still in the Palace, torn between her two lovers: Prince Maxon and Aspen. She is one of six girls still left in the Selection, the others having been sent home. America and Maxon seem closer than ever. Maxon confides in America about a secret Library in the palace and America seems to be falling for him. However, she cannot make her mind up about whether to have a relationship with either Prince Maxon or Aspen.

If I’m honest, it made me cringe a little about how indecisive America was about this. I’ve said before, I didn’t like Katniss Everdeen for messing Peeta and Gabe around in The Hunger Games trilogy with her love triangle. I would never do that to a guy, seriously, I wouldn’t want to hurt anyone that loved me so much, and I really dislike these love triangle things that are going on in some books now. However, Aspen and Maxon (surprisingly) are very patient with America about this. They are prepared to give her time to think about making a decision.

As far as the quality of writing is concerned in The Elite, Kiera Cass has upped her game, in my opinion. Nothing is as much as a cliché as it was in the first book and I just think that she used a much more varied language and she didn’t repeat herself as much. Also, the plot isn’t as thin or predictable as before. It still makes easy reading, but I think that’s actually quite a good thing!

The whole concept of the story is a lot darker than the first book, really, and I thought that this was exactly what this series needed. Within the first half of the book, there is a lot more rebel attacks and Marlee is out of the competition because she had been cheating on Maxon and dating one of the guards from the palace. The Guard and Marlee are beaten publicly, as a punishment. Also, the characters become a lot more complicated and Maxon seems to be slowly drifting away from America. Some parts of the story are quite surprising, and certain character’s personalities take a turn that I didn’t foresee.

I really enjoyed this second instalment to The Selection series – probably even more than I enjoyed the first book. I just love the humour and the characters – it all works so well! I will definitely be continuing with this series.  They’re funny and addictive and a nice break from longer and more complicated stories. Which is why I’m giving The Elite four stars out of five:


Star Rating: 4/5

four star


Have You Read The Elite?

  • Did you enjoy it?
  • Was it what you expected after The Selection?
  • Did you go on to read the rest of the series? (No Spoilers, please!)

Thanks for reading everyone – hope you enjoyed this post!

Poppy sticker

 

12 thoughts on “Back At the Palace In: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. MyPassionIsHappiness says:

    I actually started the third one in this series. I liked the first one over the second one, more. But yes, I agree with you on star rating. I’ve had one problem, I thought that America was so annoying at some parts as you said she was really indecisive. But I’m excited to get into the third one and see what will be the end of this story. 🙂
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Aw, have you really?! Yeah, I’m starting the third one now. Can’t wait to see what happens! America is really annoying at times, and I think Maxon and Aspen had a lot of patience with her! 🙂 Thank you – I’m glad you like my review!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. beloveddaughters24 says:

    I read, “The Elite.” Overall, I enjoyed the book; however, I too have an issue with love triangles in books. In addition, America’s indecisiveness in this book frustrated me. That is another reason why this book wound up being my least favorite of the trilogy.
    Great post! It’s very insightful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

