Finding Love in: The One by Kiera Cass

Review Pic

the oneHi Everyone, hope you’re all having a lovely week so far. We’ve had a few sunny days lately, which has given me the chance to get out in the garden and do some reading: hence, my picture to go with today’s review to the left! Summer might finally have arrived here in England!

Today I’m reviewing Kiera Cass’s third book in The Selection series. If you haven’t already read my reviews about the previous two books in the series, follow these links to read reviews about The Selection and The Elite. As you will know if you’ve read these past two posts, this series has really surprised me. It’s not the kind of thing that I’m typically drawn to, but I’m glad I spontaneously decided to read these books.

By the end of The Elite, I couldn’t bring myself to stop reading this series so I started The One straight away and finished it within a couple of days! Oh my goodness, this series has been full of surprises and The One is no exception. When I started The Selection I admittedly correctly foresaw the conclusion to this love story, but I didn’t think America’s journey would take quite so many unexpected twists and turns. I didn’t expect quite so many fallings out and heartbreaks. I didn’t expect the books to be quite so dark and eerie!

So America, and the other three girls: Celeste, Kriss, Elise, are still at the palace, haunted by rebels, but still they are all fighting for the ultimate prize that is Prince Maxon. There are yet more obstacles in the way of this however, including several different functions such as an event called ‘The Convicting’ and also, America has an extra load on her shoulders when she finds herself being targeted by the King thanks to her rebellious attitude towards the way he rules Illèa.

In this book, I think that America had to grow up a bit. Although I really like her character, there was a certain aspect of her personality that I disliked – and that was her indecisiveness. I’m not only talking about her struggle to chose between Aspen and Maxon, but her inability to recognise what she wanted her life to be like in the future. But in The One Aspen and Maxon are becoming impatient with her and things are actually moving without having America’s consent.

A lot of things happened in The One and I thought that it was definitely by far the most fast-paced and dramatic of all the books in the series so far. As I’ve said, there was a lot of twists and turns – there’s seriously no better way of describing it. There’s a lot of events which are both extremely unexpected and upsetting! There was a point near the end, where I thought it was all over and then BAM! – loads more stuff happened at which point literally said aloud: “WHAT?!!”

So yeah, overall, The One was a big surprise and a much more dramatic conclusion to America Singer’s story than I could have ever hoped for. The ending was sort of happy, but I was sad that several characters who I’d really become attached to died.

I’m giving this book the full five star rating for so many reasons:

  • It’s a fantastic conclusion to America’s story
  • There were  a lot of great surprises and it wasn’t as predictable as I thought
  • The standard of this series has just grown and grown

five star


Have you read this series?

So you’ve heard what I think about the series so far – but what do you think about them?

  • Were you happy with the ending to America’s story?
  • Did you guess what was going to happen?
  • Have you read the next two books in the series: The Heir and The Crown?

I’m excited about the fourth and the fifth books in the series. I think it’s a clever way to carry it on, and I am really looking forward to seeing how America is getting on. If you’ve read them, would you recommend them?

Hope you enjoyed this review!

Thank you for reading, everyone! 🙂

Poppy sticker

 

8 thoughts on “Finding Love in: The One by Kiera Cass

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I was planning to write a small rant about this series, but I’m glad you liked it. I think it’s a real hit or miss. While I did enjoy some of it, America started to annoy me after a while. But I will admit I read the books rather fast because I wanted to know how it ended.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poppy says:

      Awh, it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy the series, Jill. I definitely agree with you; I think it’s a “Love or hate” thing. And yeah, America did get a bit annoying, but I still really enjoyed the books for their humour, etc. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

