July Wrap-up

wr

Hi everyone! It’s the first day of August which means that today, I’m doing July’s wrap-up post. You might have noticed last month that I didn’t do a wrap-up for June, which was because I only managed to fit one book into that hectic month! So I didn’t think that there was much point in doing a wrap-up because I’d already reviewed that book. This month, however, I’m back on form, and I’ve managed to squeeze in a grand total of three books. In case you missed my reviews on these books, here’s what I thought of them, in a nut-shell, and updates on other bookish things:


Mind Games by Teri Terry

Review here

The first book that I read this month was Mind Games by Teri Terry. I borrowed this book from a friend. It’s not something I’d pick up myself, but my friend convinced me that it was worth a read so I decided to give it a try. It was an unusual book about a girl called Luna who lived in a world where you could ‘plug in’ to a virtual world and live a life there as well as your ordinary life. I found it quite confusing and weird, but it was quite a good read. I gave this book what I now think was quite a generous star rating of four stars:

four star


The Elite by Kiera Cass

Review here

The second book I read this month was Kiera Cass’s second book in the Selection series – The Elite. I’d read the first book in May and had only just got round to continuing with the series.  I mentioned in my review how I was pleased that the whole thing took a much darker twist, so I thoroughly enjoyed this book. America’s indecisiveness did irritate me a little, but other than that, Kiera Cass got it just right in my opinion, which is why I rated it four stars:

four star


The One by Kiera Cass

Review here

And finally, I read the third book in the Selection series by Kiera Cass, and I thoroughly enjoyed this dramatic conclusion to America’s story. It was fast-paced and unexpected at times and the ending was very satisfying. I did correctly predict who America married in the ending, but I was doubting myself  when all sorts of twists happened! It was a really good book. I’m still wondering whether or not to buy the fourth and fifth in the series…? I gave The One five stars!

five star


Currently Reading: After You by Jojo Moyes

20160731_183158


July’s posts:


 Personal Updates

It’s finally the summer holidays so at last I can sit back and relaxxxx! Phew! It’s been a longmee school year.

I saw the film Me Before You earlier this month and I absolutely adored it! Sam Claflin and Emilia Clarke were amazing as Will and Louisa, and it was just a beautiful film. Usually, I’m disappointed when it comes to books being turned into films but with Me Before You I wasn’t disappointed at all. Can’t wait until it comes out on DVD now!!

My sister (who is now an even bigger Potter fan than me) went to a Harry Potter party at Waterstones on the 30th of July at midnight. In all honesty, I was at home and in bed at that time, but she said it was great and the best bit… she came home with a copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child which I will be prising out of her hands when she’s finished it in a couple of days, haha! Can’t wait to see what it’s like and I’ll keep you all updated on that!

reading challengeI don’t know if I told any of you, but I am participating in the Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, and although I’m not doing the best or any where near as good as I thought I’d be doing, I suppose I’m doing OK. I’ve gone from being five books ahead of schedule to five books behind! 😥 Here’s my current status on the left: <—


My August’s TBR

To tell you the truth, my TBR for August is absolutely mad! There is loads I want to read at the moment; I’ve literally got twenty books stacked on a shelf that I’ve bought in the last two months and have yet to read. Plus, I’m wanting to read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and someone has just lent me a very intriguing book called The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish – which looks very relevant for the time of year, so I’ve got a lot to look forward to I think! As it’s the holidays, I’m going to have more time to read in one sense, but I’m going away on holiday for seven days in just over a week, so I’m guessing it’s just going to balance out to be an average reading month for me.


How’s your July been?

  • How many books have you read this month?
  • What’s your book of the month?
  • Have you got a copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child yet?
  • And did you see Me Before You?!
  • Have you got any holiday plans for August?

I hope you’ve all had a great month and go on to have a great August! Hope you all enjoy my Wrap-up!


Thank you for reading, everyone!

Poppy sticker

7 thoughts on “July Wrap-up

  1. Diana says:

    It seems like you had a good month. I also watched Me Before you and I absolutely loved it mainly because of the wonderful cast. I am yet to read After You though, I hope its interesting. I read 11 books in July, all were psychological thrillers. Have a wonderful August and enjoy the holiday! The HP party sounds like such a fun idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

